Hope

Coming to realize there is no one, or nothing, that offers any real protection from those who wish to control us, is a difficult thought to hold. I wish to fight, or run, depending on what fearful thought enters my mind.

There has been one situation that stands out as a beacon in my experience. A government agency was established to collect money from “deadbeat Dads.” They had enormous power to attack. I was told by their employee, “we will follow you to your grave.” That was an unpleasant thought.

I had raised three step children for ten years without much help from their birth father. My ex-wife and I had taken this in to consideration when reaching our divorce agreement. A judge later turned that agreement over, saying it didn’t meet Federal guidelines.

Not only was the amount I owed changed, but it was changed retroactively covering years past. I was suddenly buried in debt and left without adequate income to meet my own living expenses. I withdrew and left their jurisdiction.

For ten years the debt grew. Then a letter arrived. It dismissed the debt totally. My former wife and I had worked very hard to make that letter a reality. We had forgiven each other, and that letter became the manifestation of that forgiveness. ET

Published in: on January 23, 2008 at 9:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/hope/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

