The Ubuntu Upgrade is Simple

For those of you in the know about such things, this information may seem a bit behind the curve. I just wish to say that the move from Ubuntu Feisty Fawn to the Gutsy Gibbon version of Ubuntu is totally painless.

Gutsy Gibbon is the latest release of Ubuntu, though Hardy Heron is due out in nineteen days. I thought the move fromone release to another, would create challenges, but that was not the case.

The upgrades are seamless and one version builds on the next. The easiest way to install Ubuntu is with their free CD. I used the Internet, and it took 20 hours on an Ethernet connection to complete. That may have had something to do with the fact I live in Guatemala.

The improvements in sound and graphics, are quite noticeable in Gutsy Gibbon. I plan to give the Ubuntu people a few months to straighten out any wrinkles in Hardy Heron, and then I will be ready to do that upgrade.

Ubuntu is free, yet it can provide most features that Microsoft hopes you will pay for. The install is so easy now, it will blow you away. So if you wish to save some of your money for the things you wish, you might consider not paying for things that are available to you for free. ET

Published in: on April 6, 2008 at 3:34 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/04/06/the-ubuntu-upgrade-is-simple/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Kubuntu 7.10 to the 8.04beta was a complete failure; I am not sure if that is due to the Medibuntu repositories or just Kubuntu perpetual bad luck.

  2. I hear your frustration Lefty, but you already sense where the problem may be. Kubuntu seems a different world, and I can never get their programs to work with the standard version of Ubuntu that I use.

    I’m a newbie in all this. I stick to the basic release, and stay away from beta versions. It is also good to have friends when trying all this. My buddy is working in the Terminal now so he is very helpful in leading the way.

    Hope your luck changes real soon. Smiles.

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

