A Legal Way to Build Your Music Collection

The Internet I first encountered fourteen years ago, seems light years away from the digital world I now experience online. And in experiencing this new world, I am fascinated by the number of people I find who are sharing their talents, and art, so freely with others.

The photography, videos, and music, that is freely shared on the Internet astounds me. The major music companies would have us believe those nasty “file sharing” people are spending all their time online downloading copyrighted stuff. I don’t believe that. There are just too many other interesting things to download for that to be happening.

Actually, people are finding legal ways to have the music they desire. My son shared a great idea with me on how to do this. He said that when you want newly released music; you buy it, copy it on to your computer, and then you resell the used Cd when your done.

I checked the range of prices paid for a used CD at several local stores when I was back in the States, and was surprised how much cash a used CD can bring. So, I went home and sorted through my CD music collection. I returned to the store with a stack of disks I had decided I could live without, and immediately had my seed money to start buying new music.

This is a great way to have the latest releases and cover your backside legally. Even better, it helps keep your media costs down. Your receipts show your original ownership of the CD, and establishes your legal right to your digital copy.

I do my trading with a major book/music chain, and my receipts are a hard copy record of my transactions. I buy new and return the items barely used. I have my new store credit put on a gift card, because they credit me more money when I don’t take cash for payment.

So that is how I started my collection of “new” music. I am willing to pay for my music once. I feel the writers and musicians do have a right to be paid. I am just reluctant to pay over and over again for the same recording, especially when most of that money really goes to the recording company.

I find it fascinating that the major sellers of online digital music are trying to drastically reduce the royalties they pay for the copies of the music they sell. The Digital Media Association has petitioned the Copyright Royalty Board to reduce digital royalties by two-thirds.

The DMA represents the interests of companies like Apple, Amazon, and RealNetworks. They are promoting the idea that royalties to song writers and musicians should be reduced, or eliminated all together, so as not to limit the growth of the marketplace for digital music.

Yea, right. It feels like corporate greed to me. ET

Published in: on April 8, 2008 at 3:52 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/a-legal-wayto-build-your-music-collection/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] uduzit wrote an interesting post today on A Legal Way to Build Your Music CollectionHere’s a quick excerptThe photography, videos, and music, that is freely shared on the Internet astounds me. The major music companies would have us believe those nasty “file sharing” people are spending all their time online downloading copyrighted stuff. … […]

  2. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI find it fascinating that the major sellers of online digital music are trying to drastically reduce the royalties they pay for the copies of the music they sell. The Digital Media Association has petitioned the Copyright Royalty Board … […]

  3. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI find it fascinating that the major sellers of online digital music are trying to drastically reduce the royalties they pay for the copies of the music they sell. The Digital Media Association has petitioned the Copyright Royalty Board … […]


Leave a Reply

