Understanding Your WordPress Blog Stats

This week I have had more reason than usual to watch the WordPress statistics for Uduzit. I have had more page views, and one post tweaked my statistics upward by drawing a lot more views than usual. That post sure has changed the appearance of my stat charts.

It is hard to miss your statistics on the new WordPress Dashboard. You find them in the “Stats” area, in the middle of the dashboard page. There is a graph on the left that shows you recent page views, and on the right is a list of information on your more popular posts.

Looking in the upper right corner of the Stats area you will see a link that says, “see all.” Click it, and you will go to a page with a great deal more information about your posts, and who is referring readers to you.

This is your “blog stats” page. It includes information on the words people are using to find your posts on search engines, and lists links to your blog. Your full blog numbers are further down the page, and it is important not to miss the “Akismet” links at the bottom of the page.

Now follow the link that shows the number of spam comments that have been blocked by Akismet. This takes you to a page that shows you these comments. I manage spam daily from the Comments page.

My efforts managing spam are rewarded when I find the occasional comment that seems quite legitimate, and I de-spam those. I think there is some pretty sophisticated spamming software out there, so I am still not exactly sure in my choice of what to save.

Interestingly, the information I was looking for was not detailed on the stats page. I wished to know how many page views each post had, and what days those occurred. I did find what I was looking for through the “Manage” link on the dashboard.

At the far right, when you look at a post listing on the Manage page, you will see a small icon that looks like a chart (Stats column.) Click it, and you will see your individual statistics for that post presented in a two toned blue chart.

The colors represent on site post and page views on WordPress. Syndicated views are also shown in the light blue color of the chart. These are special numbers you don’t find reflected in your WordPress page view stats. The syndicated views are the number of times your post has been viewed by folks using various types of feeds.

Most of my posts get limited direct page views. When I realized my posts on feeds are read by more people than visit my blog, I saw my post views were actually more than double what I had previously thought. That was great information, and it helped me see more folks are reading Uduzit posts than I realized.

Now that warms the heart of a newbie blogger. Smiles. ET

Published in: on April 9, 2008 at 5:54 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/04/09/understanding-wordpress-stats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] the sudden interest in stats? Well I received a comment from uduzit , and it made me start thinking about it.WordPress has some […]

  2. hi
    enjoyed your post.
    i like the syndicated views too, but for the last several weeks they don’t show up… They were there for a few weeks some time ago (when they were first introduced i think) but disappeard awhile ago. i miss them! they warmed my heart too :).
    i don’t think i changed any settings to make them go away. am i missing something obvious? any suggestions on how to get them back?
    thanks!

  3. Don’t think you are missing anything obvious, but there have been a lot of changes lately at WordPress. Folks at WordPress are tag surfing more, and checking out the new “Possibly Related Posts” feature.

    When my direct page views exceed my feed views, my feed views disappear from the chart. Does that possibly fit?

    I will put a post up later today, talking about what I have been learning about Stats. I will explore your question more, before I publish that post.

    Thanks for the input. Smiles. ET

  4. hmmmmmm – its hard for me to imagine that my direct page views exceed my feed views on every single post, especially when it used to be very much the other way around, back when i could still see the syndicated view.
    look forward to hearing what your explorations reveal.
    thanks for your efforts!

  5. I have never seen the “syndicated views” data on my charts.

  6. Hi, I googled this and found your post. It makes sense. I kept having this feeling that way more people were reading than the stats showed. But playing around I found the stats for individual posts. They do not seem to reflect anything but direct views.

    I was hoping I was right about hidden views coming in, not sure now.

    I love WordPress just the same. It won’t make me rich or famous but that was not my goal. I left blogcritics.org because I wanted to have more freedom and wanted to see my posts and thoughts posted asap instead of waiting days sometimes. My Tim Geithner post was pretty popular here.

    Thanks for the info.

    Heloise8

  7. Hi,
    thanks for the informative post. I do have a question; I’ve been looking online and I’m still not sure how syndicated views come about. Do you have to have some sort of subscribe via RSS button installed on your blog to get them? I’m pretty confused about RSS…


Leave a Reply

