WordPress “Possibly Related Posts” Feature

This week something new appeared on my blog. The folks at WordPress have added something new at the bottom of my posts. It is a new feature called, “Possibly Related Posts.” This feature does appear to live up to its name.

The most noticeable point here is the word “possibly.” The links I now see put at the bottom of each of my posts are sometimes good, but mostly confusing. I am even more confused why WordPress wishes to take my readers off my blog, just as they are getting to the Comment Section of my post.

I realize the idea is to help folks see other posts on WordPress with subject matter related to what they just read in my post. The connections the computer makes in putting all this together are currently somewhat distant. Personally, I’d rather see the computer put together a list of related posts from my blog first. Then the “possibly” part of this feature might not seem so obvious.

If this feature annoys you, disable it. Go to your blog Dashboard and click on the Design link. Once there, click Extras link directly below Design. There you will find a box that says, “Hide related links on this blog, which means this blog won’t show up on others blogs or get traffic that way.” That almost sounds like a threat.

On the other hand, this feature may benefit your blog. You may already be seeing increased traffic. You will have to weigh the benefits and make a decision. You may wish for all this to be sorted out before you use it. Should you decide the problems outweigh the benefits, then put a check in that little box. Don’t forget to hit the Update button.

WordPress says they will soon release an update that will allow us to sort through these links and block those we don’t want. Personally, That sounds like a lot of editing after a post has been submitted, but time will tell.

Before you shut this feature off, you might wish to check your stats for the past week. Are your page views up? Do you see more WordPress tag related referrals? Maybe this feature isn’t all bad, and you just need to give time. That’s your choice.

Maybe, maybe not, that is the question. Smiles. ET

Published in: on April 27, 2008 at 10:35 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/wordpress-%e2%80%9cpossibly-related-posts%e2%80%9d-feature/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I thought I knew where to turn it off but I forgot :D So thanks for this blog post :D I don’t like new feature. :D


Leave a Reply

