Advertisements on my Dashboard?

This morning, I had problems loading my dashboard on WordPress. It hesitated for a moment, and as I watched, I thought the wrong page was loading. There was a dollar sign, an advertisement on my dashboard!

This ad on my Dashboard said I could have a domain of my own for $15. Yea, so what? I can have have my own domain name for a lot less than that other places. What’s the deal. I checked the WordPress front page and found no insight on this there.

I can’t advertise on WordPress, so who then is putting advertisements on my Dashboard? Personally, I found it repugnant. My stomach did a little roll as I realized what I was seeing.

This appears to be a major change in WordPress policy. Am I now seeing that WordPress can advertise on my blog pages, but I, and other community members can not? I sense this one is going to need some damage control.

On WordPress, I have had a break from the constant demands for my attention, and money, that I found on other blog hosting sites. I like that break, though it appears to be over. I also liked the sense of a community contributing to what was happening at WordPress.

These past few days, I have a sense of a community reacting to change being forced on them without choice. That’s a bubble. bubble, toil and trouble situation.

The “Possibly Related Posts” feature arrived on my blog without notice last week, and now I have advertisements on my Dashboard this week. Darn, what’s going on?

Sometimes I just have dreams. I just had my first cup of coffee, and darn if that ad isn’t gone from my Dashboard. Did I catch a glimpse of a test, or was I dreaming? Anyone else catch a glimpse of this? Maybe I just need to go back to bed and reload my day later.

Smiles. ET

Published in: on April 29, 2008 at 6:57 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/advertisements-on-my-dashboard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good writing. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed my Google News Reader..

    Matt Hanson

  2. […] Pink Slip wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThat’sa bubble. bubble, toil and trouble situation. The “Possibly Related Posts” feature arrived on my blog without notice last week, and now I have advertisements on my Dashboard this week. Darn, what’s going on? … […]


Leave a Reply

