Stats and Coffee

This morning I had stats with my coffee. It was a pleasant experience, because I had new things to look at with my freshly installed Site Meter and Stat Counter services. Both programs monitor my WordPress blog traffic, and are working wonderfully.

In the past, my stats were just numbers. They represented page views. Now, my stats are giving those numbers new meaning. My stats now give me information about the actual people who visit my blog.

This morning, half my blog visitors came from the States. They arrived from all Four Directions, from cities all across the country. There were also visitors from Slovakia, United Kingdom, India, Israel, and Ireland. Imagine that.

My readers are becoming much more real to me. I like that. I also like that with Stat Counter I can see all my posts on a list ranked by popularity. On one page, I can see which posts have attracted interest, and how long posts are staying on the charts.

The Stat Counter full-page world maps, and visitor location displays are First Class. Lenka, made an important comment on yesterdays post about these programs. She noted that Stat Counter, may be free, but with limits.

Checking this out, I find Stat Counter provides free stats to one and a half million websites. They state that each of your projects can include multiple pages, but all views count toward that projects’ “free” limit of 500 entries.

When you reach that limit, your oldest record is replaced by your newest entry. Your project remains active when you reach the free limit. You just have old entries disappearing.

If you wish to maintain active records for a longer period, you can pay $9 a month to raise your limit to 1500 per project. Stat Counter is still free, but free has limits.

Site Meter appears less fancy, but it clearly lays out the direction your traffic, past and future. I enjoy their Traffic Projection page, because I no longer need to attempt to do this math myself.

With the Site Meter feature “Who’s On,” you can see all your blogs activity over the past twenty minutes. When things are active, this can be great entertainment. Simple pleasures for simple people.

With Site Meter you can have additiional features for some more money. You can raise your monthly page views above the 100,000 free limit, by paying $6.95 more per month. For most folks, using this program will not not cost money.

It has been a wonderful morning drinking delicious Guatemala coffee, while meeting the new people who are visiting my blog. Who could ask for anything more?

Hope your day is grand as well.

Smiles. ET

Published in: on May 17, 2008 at 7:43 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/05/17/stats-and-coffee/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Stats in the morning with coffee :D That’s what I do in the morning :D I registered at SiteMeter but didn’t like that there is no invisible option other than to pay some fee to get it :) So I am staying with StatCounter :)

    Guatemala coffee…well, really, who could ask for more? :) Enjoy your day! :)

  2. Hello Lenka. Don’t dismay with Site Meter. Go to your account and look under “Manage.” There you can choose to have your blog stats not be public information.

    The Site Meter hit counters allow you to show or hide your stats. The counter I use takes folks to Site Meter’s home page, yet still shows my hits. They offer several choices in counters, and each of them does something different.

    Smiles. ET

  3. I didn’t mean that :) I know I can put high security and then it’s not public :) But I meant that I can’t make it invisible on my blog, I simply have to put the banner :)


Leave a Reply

