Blogging Mini-Tips

It is interesting to see how quickly things can turn around. I am seeing that I can directly impact the numbers of viewers on my blog on a daily basis.

My blog is quite young and I am not dealing with big numbers. Still there are patterns that are emerging. My readers view an average of 1.5 posts. They average 1.3 minutes on a page.

I create the most impact on these numbers by posting. I average five posts a week. I can increase my traffic by posting more often. Each post puts my blog on the WordPress tag pages and that means readers.

I average 26 readers for each post I write. When I post more often, I know that over a period of time each post means about twenty six more readers on Uduzit. When I add an extra post per week, I will see 100 additional visitors as a result.

Yesterday, I wrote a post called,The Sitemeter World Map”. It is about free software programs, and some of their special features.

The post focused on how the world maps of these statistical analysis programs, gives me a view of where my readers are coming from. I did a moment about how we connect using the Internet, and then settled in to a comparison of the visitor maps of each stats program.

When I was proofing this post before publishing, I saw that it had many improvements over my earlier posts. I could see the things I had been advised to do to make my post easier to find. I saw the things I am doing to help the Search engines find my posts.

Here is a list of things I did to make my post more visible to my readers and the Search Engines.

1. I included an image. I bold typed some key words. I created two links in the post to the homepages of the free software programs I was discussing.

I note here that “free software” is a keyword Google has ranked for Uduzit.

When I wander off my keywords, I see my Google ranking falls. To introduce a new subject, I will post several related posts and then move back to a keyword related post. It is great to try new subjects, but I have learned to get back to my main keywords quickly.

2. I also include the name of my blog in my posts by reference. It is a unique name and the Search Engines pick it up. Go ahead, Google the word “Uduzit.” It comes up with pages of results.

Really. Try it. You won’t see how many results this creates unless you check it out. Heck, stick around. Search results for “Uduzit” currently create nine pages of Goggle Search results.

Nine pages and growing!

Connect a unique word to your blog and the Search Engines will crawl it, rank it, and output every result. Those results will ultimately turn in to many Google Search pages for your blog.

3. In this post I shared a couple of simple tips that help improve a blog. I share the ones that I have road tested and found have a good track record for results.

4. I also did two trackbacks with my post. That was a first. Trackbacks link my blog to other sites. Hopefully they will link back on some occasion.

Links with other blogs impacts your Google rankings.

My understanding is that trackbacks are like a note to the other blog publisher. It lets them know you have read their blog, and considered one of their posts important enough to link to from your own blog.

It all sets up a process of blogs linking to blogs with similar subject matter. That is what Google is looking for. You make the Search Engines happy and they show it!

It has been a good day for writing. Give these tips a try. Let me know if you found them useful.

Have a great day.

Smiles. ET

Published in: on June 25, 2008 at 8:42 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/blogging-mini-tips/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

