A No Internet Day

It is one of those days that I sometimes experience here in Guatemala. It is the Rainy Season. It is cloudy and drizzle is falling very lightly. It is a very sleepy day without the Internet.

It is becoming clearer to me that the Internet consumes a great deal of my time. I find it interesting that I can stay so busy online. The hours disappear so quickly.

The Internet runs in the background of my life. When I have no connection, I sense all the information I am cut off from. I can’t read the news. I can’t research the subjects I am interested. More importantly, I can’t read my email.

Email connects me to others. I have developed a network of friends who are now spread around the world. Many of those people have lived in San Pedro for extended periods. They are now traveling further, or have returned home.

We communicate sporadically. Yet, we are all connected by links through other people. One way or the other, we have an idea of what each is doing.

It is fun also to stay in touch with those who return here each year like birds in flight. When these folks return to Lake Atitlan you know the weather is changing up North. Their return is one of the ways I know the Seasons will soon change here.

Each day I try to communicate with one person. This means I write them a letter. That doesn’t work with text messaging. My son has equated my emails to books. I would call them essays. My longer emails are written that way for a reason.

First, I have my friends’ total attention for a moment. I can tell them what is happening in my life. I can ask questions about what is going on with them. I can comment on the things I know they are experiencing.

It takes two to communicate. I am working on keeping the process going.

Recently, I read that the key to maintaining a friendship is staying in touch. Friendship is created by communication. Break the communication for too long and the friendship withers.

Email is such an easy way to keep the communication going. When my Internet comes back up you know where I will be.

I checked this morning. They said it would be just an hour. It’s another rainy day in Guatemala.

Smile. ET

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/a-no-internet-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the post


Leave a Reply

