Winter at Lake Atitlan

Volcano view from Antigua

Volcano view from Antigua

I have lived in some places with lousy weather, like around the Great Lakes in the States. I moved to the Southwest and found Arizona was not the paradise I thought it would be. Lake Atitlan in Guatemala is Paradise compared to the other places I have lived.

In Arizona I spent a lot of money either trying to stay warm, or cool. Living in my motor home, I would work for the National Forest Service in the high mountains to escape the summer heat of the lower elevations.

I loved when my employers paid my utility bills. Staying warm, or cool, in the lower elevations cost big money!

In Guatemala my room has one glass window and one screened window. Both windows have wooden shutters. The walls are block and transfer daytime warmth into the room at night. When nights are chilly I burn a candle, or add a blanket.

Money spent on utility bills, is now money spent to buy candles. I could get fancy and purchase a tiffany oil lamp, but that produces a lot of heat for a small area. Oil lamps are great for atmosphere though.

Most nights I wear a sweater. My English friends don their jumpers. It is winter here. It is the Rainy Season.

At Lake Atitlan in the highlands of Guatemala, the temperatures moderate between 60 and 80 degrees throughout the year. Lake Atitlan is located in a volcanic caldron and a thousand feet below the surrounding highlands.

The Highlands of Guatemala have winter weather that sometimes includes snow. Summer temperatures are warm and have higher humidity in the Rainy Season.

If you wish the jungles and tropical weather, you can visit Tikal or the Livingston on the Caribbean. On the Pacific Coast this time of year, you will find black sands and more tropical weather.

Guatemala has about every climate you could wish to experience. We have old Spanish cities and modern cities here. It is a place well worth checking out!

Smiles. ET

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://uduzit.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/winter-at-lake-atitlan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

